(Not So) Senior Week

There are currently large inflatables outside my window.

This is what Midd does for their seniors. But really, it has been Senior Week here at Middlebury, and not being a senior, I have definitely felt excluded more than once. They have shut down whole streets for dinners, and security to enter a senior week event is more strict than London Heathrow Airport (okay…they just require two forms of ID). Last night there was a “pub crawl” in downtown Middlebury; cause when one thinks of downtown Midd, the first thing that comes to mind is bar hopping.

The idea of a Senior Week is interesting to me. On one hand it will be nice to spend a week, stress-free, with all of my college friends before we scatter to various parts of the world, maybe never to see each other again. But on the other hand, I find it hard to believe that the college spends money on something like this. I would much rather see the school devote the funds to something else more worthwhile during the year. I’m sure my friends and I could manage to plan the week after graduation to do something fun together. All in all though, I think it’s a nice gesture by the school to thank all the soon-to-be alumni for their hard work during their 4 years here.

Expect more graduation posts to come as Commencement Weekend approaches. I’m going to go see if I can join in on this foam jousting action.

Audrey

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

