Lake Dunmore is cold.

Like, really cold. But gorgeous.

This morning I joined a group of the Middlebury Muffintops for their daily lake swim. For those of you who don’t know, the Muffintops are Midd’s badass masters swim team and they are made up of faculty and staff members from the college as well as community members. And in my opinion, they are being represented by the wrong mascot. None of them are muffintops (have muffintops?), and I can only pray that my body looks that good in twenty-plus years. They were extremely welcoming and a great group to swim with. This is the kind of community interaction I was hoping for this summer at Midd, and I hope to form a great relationship with them over the rest of the summer. But more on the actual lake:

  • Lake Dunmore is surprisingly clean. There were a lot of places in shallow areas where I could clearly see the bottom of the lake, and although I took a very long (and warm) shower upon my return to Battell, I didn’t feel as grimy or sandy as I thought I would. In other words, this is a great place to go for a non-chlorinated dip in the summer and I’d like to add “day trip to Lake Dunmore” to our summer bucket list.
  • Lake Dunmore is not a good place to go fishing. Maybe they were just all asleep since it was SO early, but I saw no fish as I swam. This is probably a good thing, as that would have freaked me out. There is also no monster in the lake, although I did worry about that for a second while I was swimming (I think the cold water was seeping into my brain).
  • Swimming in a beautiful lake, surrounded by mountains as the sun comes up is hands-down the best way to start your day. There aren’t many things I’ll get up at 5 in the morning for, but this is one.

It even looks cold.

Warmly (oh the irony),

Audrey

2 Responses

  1. I saw a fish.

  2. […] Dunmore are frequent in the summer, though the water can still be a bit chilly this time of year, as a couple of students found out recently. The observation comes from the duo behind the blog English Spoken Here: A Summer at Middlebury. […]

Leave a Reply

