Notes on a Summer

My textbooks have all arrived (thank you Amazon free student shipping). I’ve moved into my fall housing. I’ve crashed every possible Freshman Orientation event that I could.

I guess that means that the Summer is finally drawing to a not-so-welcomed close.

When I think back to May, I’m not sure what I envisioned for my summer. At the time, I was just happy to have a paying internship somewhere where the temperature wouldn’t be 110 degrees (read: Dallas). I was excited that classes were over and that a much needed break was going to begin, but as far as to what I wanted to accomplish or achieve during my summer, I had no concrete plans. I didn’t even know that this blog was going to be created. I entered with no expectations, ready to embrace whatever came my way.

Little did I know that I was in for a summer full of adventures and pleasant surprises.

There is something really special about being at this place during the summer. Without classes, professors, or 2200 other students on campus, the college becomes this huge, leafy, expansive playground. There’s no rushing from place to place, staying up late to write papers: you get to experience the college in its most basic state all while reveling in the near perfect weather. To say that it’s idyllic doesn’t even begin to describe what spending a summer here is like: words can’t do it justice.

Further, I was finally given the opportunity to get to know Vermont. In many ways, I consider myself a new-born Vermonter, spending weekends in Burlington, going to local fairs, driving through all the wonderful small towns in the general area. I’m a big proponent of spending time being a tourist in your own town/city/state, so it’s been great adventuring through the mountains of VT.

But what made my summer experience so wonderful, aside from a great job and fantastic scenery, were the people I spent it with. Luckily for me, I was able to form a very tight-knit group of friends, with both students I spent time with during the semester and students I barely knew going into the summer. Not surprisingly, all of us were so much less stressed, so much less caught up with being ‘Middlebury College students’ than we normally are during the school year. It’s a rare opportunity given to us summer workers, the chance to get to know one another outside of an academic context.

While not everything about summering in Middlebury was completely rosy (living in battell, eating in the same dining hall for the entire summer, working 7 hours a day 5 days a week), I can’t help but look back on my experiences and smile. For me, it was a summer of grilled onions, board games, climbing trees, Ke$ha and Gaga played loud and proud, monsoon weather, late night star gazing, rooftop talks, foreign languages and a sense of true contentment.

I’ve grown a lot this summer, both in the way I interact with others (when you spend your entire day attempting to win over prospective students, you find it easier and easier to get to know strangers) and in deciding what I want out of my future.

While I’m not sure what to expect going into the new school year, I know that whenever I get stressed about that 15 page paper or when the temperature plummets below freezing, I can reflect on my summer spent beneath the Vermont sun and feel at peace.

Cody

2 Responses

  1. This is a great post, Cody. Well written, reflective, and true. I’ve always been a big proponent of all Middkids doing one summer at Middlebury whether at language school or just working.

  2. Extraordinary experiences often come from the ordinary days of life!

Leave a Reply

